Tech

Step by Step instructions for taking control of your Facebook account

It’s the biggest story in tech in a long time, the Facebook & Cambridge Analytica “scandal” has opened the eyes of millions of people to just what Facebook knows about you.

While it’s not illegal what happened it’s a breach of trust by Facebook in the eyes of most users because they simply didn’t know how deep this goes.

So, to help you out we’ve created a step by step guide to taking control of your Facebook account.  From downloading the data they have on you to deleting Facebook entirely.

For many, Deleting Facebook is a bridge too far – so we’re recommending a digital detox – clean up your account privacy and advertiser settings.

The top 3 things you should do are:

  1. Take control of the information Facebook shares with advertisers about you
  2. Limit the third party apps that have your information
  3. Download a copy of your Facebook data.

Step by step instructions for all of those – plus deleting your facebook account, are below:

DOWNLOADING YOUR FACEBOOK DATA

  1. Log into your Facebook account on a computer.
  2. Click the small downward pointing arrow in the top right hand corner of the page
  3. Choose SETTINGS from the drop-down menu (LINK: https://www.facebook.com/settings)
  4. On the General Account Settings page at the bottom of the list is a link to “Download a copy” of your Facebook Data – Click that.
  5. On the next page you will be presented with the option to “Start my Archive” – Click that.
  6. You will be prompted to enter your Facebook password.
  7. Once authenticated, a pop up window will appear titled “Request My Download” – press “Start My Archive”
  8. You will then get a confirmation message letting you know you will receive an email when the archive is ready to download.
  9. You will immediately receive an email confirming you have requested your archive. There is no action to take in this email.
  10. Depending on how much information you’ve shared on Facebook the next step might happen in 5 minutes, or could take an hour.
  11. You will receive an email titled “Your Facebook download is ready” – at the bottom of that email is a link – click it.
  12. Click the link to “Download Archive”
  13. This will begin the process of downloading a single file containing all your information stored at Facebook, including images, videos, status updates, contacts and more.
  14. The file may be quite large and could take a while to download.
  15. Once downloaded, you need to open the file – extract the files as instructed by your computer.
  16. This will create a folder called “Facebook-yourname” on your comptuer, open that folder and open the file called “index”
  17. You can now browse all the information in the download to see what Facebook knows about you, and you can keep this file and data for yourself for ever – whether you stay on Facebook or delete it.

 

HOW TO PROTECT YOUR DATA ON FACEBOOK

  1. Log into your Facebook account on a computer.
  2. Click the small downward pointing arrow in the top right hand corner of the page
  3. Choose SETTINGS from the drop-down menu (LINK: https://www.facebook.com/settings)
  4. On the menu on the LEFT hand side of the screen, choose APPS
  5. Here you will see a list of apps and services you have authorised to use your Facebook login with and may be sharing information with.
  6. Tick the box next to each one you either don’t recognise or don’t wish to continue using in this way then click REMOVE at the top of the page
  7. NOTE: That is a time consuming process – this is time well spent

 

DELETING FACEBOOK’S ADVERTISER PROFILES OF YOU

  1. Log into your Facebook account on a computer.
  2. Click the small downward pointing arrow in the top right hand corner of the page
  3. Choose SETTINGS from the drop-down menu (LINK: https://www.facebook.com/settings)
  4. On the menu on the LEFT hand side of the screen, choose ADS
  5. Through each section of this page, take the time to remove any items, companies or interests you do not wish to be associated with you or your account.
  6. The important sections are YOUR INFORMATION and AD SETTINGS – in this space turn OFF any or all sections you are not comfortable with to limit the amount of information being shared with advertisers.

 

DELETING YOUR FACEBOOK ACCOUNT

  1. Log into your Facebook account on a computer.
  2. Click the small downward pointing arrow in the top right hand corner of the page
  3. Choose SETTINGS from the drop-down menu (LINK: https://www.facebook.com/settings)
  4. On the menu in the main section of the screen Choose EDIT next to manage account.
  5. Here you can DEACTIVATE your account.  It’s recommended you take this step first, as there may be other apps or services you use that rely on your Facebook account.  Sort through any issues that arise first before finally deleting Facebook.
  6. Next, Delete the Facebook APP from your phone and other devices.  This will take away the temptation to rejoin.
  7. Finally, head to the DELETE FACEBOOK page (Almost impossible to find on the site, it’s https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account) and take the plunge!!
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top